Restart and scary, scary things

So…reality is coming.

After 11 years, and with a rather large knot in my stomach, I have decided to leave the glamourous life of an English Adjunct instructor and pick up the writing life. Teaching has been an interesting experience, but there are only so many times that I can review the MLA citation format and explain that, yes, you do need to include a thesis statement in every essay before I melt into a puddle of unused brains.

That isn’t the scary part. The scary part is that I’m going to leave everything I’m familiar with behind and try to create a new life. The last year has opened my eyes to the fact that I was stuck in a rut. I suspected it before, which is why I joined the MFA program, but I am positive of it now. I need to break out and find my life, instead of just sitting and twiddling my thumbs.

So, here’s the plan. I’m going to visit Portland, OR this summer. If I like it there, I will move there (or, at least, that general area) this August. If I don’t like it, I will check out a few other places. I’m going to finish my MFA this summer, which is both happy and sad, and will try to publish my thesis as a novel. I will look for whatever writing work I can find. Things will be tight, but they’ve been tighter for most of my adult life, so I’m not too worried about that.

I’m going to miss Nebraska. I’m going to miss UNK. But I am not an academic. It’s time I get my thumb off the pause button and press Play.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Restart and scary, scary things

  1. We’re not too terribly far from Portland (about a 5 hour drive) – if you do move out to the west coast, we’d insist you come visit us. It is gorgeous here, and maybe you’d find a little inspiration. I wish you the very best of luck in your writing 🙂

  2. MOM and DAD

    We too share in your emotions, but mostly we are very proud that you believe in yourself enough to know something better is calling you.
    where ever you go you will be on our visit list. only the best wishes for you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

